westward bound

September 16, 2009 at 3:56 am 1 comment

SO for the umpteenth time, I’m going to start writing again.  Do forgive me because I’m out of practice writing things that aren’t my professional paper :-)… it feels good. Anyway.

So for those of you who I haven’t spoken to in a while, you should know that in 15 days (!!) I’m leaving for a six-month music therapy internship in fabulous San Diego, CA.  The internship with MusicWorx goes October 5th through April 2nd and, if everything I’ve heard is true, it’s going to be quite a ride.  🙂  So since I’m not taking any class-classes this semester, the last bit of August/first bit of September has been my time to take care of business and catch up on reading assignments and learn new songs for internship so that I hit the ground running and not falling flat on my face.  Although I suspect that no matter how much I prepare some face-falling is going to take place anyway…

I wanted to start up this blog again because it’s a way of letting you know what’s going on with me while I’m in San Diego and, past that, back in Texas actually doing what I love and getting paid for it.  I am generally excited/terrified of the future – and I think that what helps me be less terrified/more excited is to think, as sensibly as I can, about what I’m about to do and what it’s going to entail.  If this doesn’t happen, the alternative is my putting off thinking about it until it actually happens.  Not good.  Trust me, I’ve done it before. 

Let’s see… In addition to my thinky/feely musings on what’s going on with me, I’m also apt to post random crap that I think is cool.  Exhibit A: the video below, which showcases a song I heard on KUT this afternoon on the way home.  This song officially makes me wish I was going to be around for ACL this year (in October? so late!) because Michael Franti and his band Spearhead are filling in for Sonic Youth.  KUT, you rock.   (the graphics on the YT video are sorta cool but not necessary, just close your eyes and experience)

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

laugh it up…

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. christina  |  September 16, 2009 at 1:34 pm

    HOORAY! I’m going to seriously miss you but am glad you’ll be writing to us from the great beyond of SD!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


RSS i read

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email

Join 2 other followers


