Photoblogging extravaganza 1: The trip to San Diego

October 3, 2009 at 6:20 pm 3 comments

My dad and I left very early Wednesday morning for San Diego.  He drove while I slept (well, sort of… drifted in and out of sleeping/watching the stars).  When I woke up, we were about 40 miles to Fort Stockton and 250-ish miles from the Texas border.  The drive from Austin to El Paso is, by the way, more interesting and shorter than the Dallas-El Paso trek I made to regional conference last year.  More changes in scenery.  We stopped at a view point in between the I-10 and I-20 merge and El Paso:

IMG_1824

Went through El Paso and… goodbye Texas :-(, hello New Mexico!

IMG_1830

I’ve been to and through Mexico several times and thought it was indeed a “Land of Enchantment”.  This time, not so much.  After Las Cruces, the ensuing 150 miles or so were flat, sandy, and kinda boring.  I didn’t take any pictures.

On to Arizona:

IMG_1831

Arizona … what shall I say about Arizona?  It was kinda cool.  I’ve been to the Grand Canyon and that’s cool and stuff, but the southern part of Arizona is really stark and beautiful.

IMG_1837

First sign we encountered with the words “San Diego” on it was north of Tuscon at the turnoff for I-8 (Tuscon, by the way, seems like a very nice city).  Excitement ensues 🙂

IMG_1839

The other thing I will say about Arizona is… Holy Cactus, Batman!!

IMG_1842

From Gila Bend (crazy little town where we spent the night) to the Arizona border, cacti (cactuses?) were all over the place.  They were really, really erie.  We were listening to a Phoenix classical station playing this really lush dance suite and the music and the rugged scenery… the last 100 miles flew by.  God, I love music.

Finally, CALIFORNIA OMG!

IMG_1848

(Entering Pacific Time… which my body still is not used to.  Also, I’m a little upset that TX/OU will be at FREAKING 9 AM here.  But we will discuss later 🙂

I-8 doesn’t go through the Mojave Desert (that’s quite a bit north of here), but upon entering the Cali border we immediately entered what is probably the biggest sandstorm I’ve ever been in:

IMG_1851

Sand from these incredibly large sand dunes was blowing swiftly onto the road.  Let us just say that I’m very glad my dad was driving.

Landscape change – I-8 next took us up into the mountains (the climb was so steep that we were advised to turn off our A/C to avoid overheading. Intense!)  The mountains here were truly unlike anything I’ve ever seen!

IMG_1854

(I’m not sure the pictures do it justice – these mountains essentially looked like overgrown rockpiles. Really cool)

From there we started our descent to SAN DIEGO.  On the way into town, we had In ‘N Out Burger (delightful!).  I should’ve taken a picture.  All in all, I really enjoyed the trip.  There is no way I could have done it without my dad – he drove all but about 150 miles of the trip without even needing a nap.  Mad props.

So now I’m here – I dropped my dad off at the airport this morning, which was rough.  When I feel like it in the next few days I’ll write about my dad visiting b/c we had a BLAST and it was great to have him here.  San Diego is beautiful.  I can’t believe I’m actually here.  This time last year I was making tentative plans and the whole thing seemed so far away, and now I start on Monday.  Until then, you can most likely find me in front of the TV watching college football while I still have the time.  No Texas game this weekend but for some reason, Joan (the lady I’m staying with) gets the A&M/Arkansas game.  Huh.  Go figure.  🙂

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

First two days!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. christina  |  October 4, 2009 at 9:24 am

    beautiful pictures, great post! I’m excited to see/read more about your adventure 🙂 By the way, TX/OU at 9am means justifiable breakfast beer 😉

    Reply
  • 2. Liz  |  October 4, 2009 at 11:19 am

    Hey Girl! Pretty pictures! I’m glad ya’ll had a good trip to SD. I am however sorry that you had the opportunity to watch the A&M Arkansas game. It was terrible.

    Also, if you could send me your address in SD I would much appreciate it. 😀

    I love you girlie. Call me if you ever need a pick-me-up.

    ~Liz

    Reply
  • 3. thecaffeinatedsquirrel  |  October 4, 2009 at 11:49 am

    Breakfast beer HOORAY!! 🙂
    And yeah, I had hope for the Aggies and it was looking good for part of the first half, then it just got depressing. I ended up watching the OU/Canes game, which was satisfying 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


RSS i read

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email

Join 2 other followers


