First two days!

October 6, 2009 at 10:20 pm 1 comment

Can I just say first off that I am so blessed?  I have the most amazing friends who knew I was moving to SD and care enough to ask how internship is going so far and how I am doing.  It really does mean a lot to me to know that you care enough to read my insanely narcissistic blog about what’s going on with me.  I really don’t want to disappear from the lives of the friends/family I care about, so I think this is a good way to let people know what’s going on with my life while I’m out here.  All of this to say – thanks for reading, ya’ll 🙂

So. First two days! I am … yeeah, I’m not going to figure out what percentage I am done with internship (1/90th? no, more than that).  So far, it’s been pretty good.  Lots of information, some of which I’m going to need repeated several times, but pretty good. I am in a good place out here – a wide variety of experiences (the populations I will be working with at first include substance abuse patients, well elderly, people with Parkinson’s disease, people in the ICU/other hospital floors, kids/adolescents/teenagers with developmental disabilities, breast cancer survivors, hospice patients and oh yeah, people in homeless shelters), lots of people to work with, and TONS to learn.  It’s really a bit intimidating at this point, but also good to see today that I’m not expected to “know it all”, that I can rely on others, and that above all, IT’S OKAY TO MAKE MISTAKES. (more on this later)  The rest of this week and part of the next one are going to be devoted to more orientation/getting my ducks in a row, a LOT of observing senior interns and supervisors, and perhaps working a teeny tiny bit with clients. What with the massive amount of information racing about in my head, though, I wouldn’t have it any other way.  🙂

On a somewhat related note, on Sunday night I made a list of promises to myself.  Those of you who know me well probably know that I’m very hard on myself, sometimes needlessly so, and this list was intended to make a covenant with myself, to remind myself that I am only human and can only do so much.  In part because I suspect I’m going to need some reminders of these promises I’ve made further down the road, I’m enclosing the list below…

I promise:

-to allow myself room for failure

-to give every day and every client my 100% effort

-to engage in self-care

-to learn from mistakes

-to keep surrounding myself with those who support me

-to see God in every person and client

-to acknowledge and embrace my anxieties, and to work through them

-to live spiritually

And finally…

-not to beat myself up if I falter and break a promise to myself

I know it’s super cheesy, but when I look at the list (it’s currently by my bed) I’m reminded of why it’s so important to take care of myself – why it’s so important that we all take care of ourselves, really. Life is short, people.  It’s way too short to live in fear of making mistakes.  I just hope I can remember these things when the flood of work actually comes 🙂

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Photoblogging extravaganza 1: The trip to San Diego Miss Personality revealed…

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. I promise… «  |  January 4, 2010 at 1:26 am

    […] 4, 2010 by thecaffeinatedsquirrel … so back in October I wrote a post at the bottom which is a list of promises I made to myself the night before I started internship.  […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


RSS i read

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email

Join 2 other followers


