a late night thought

October 26, 2009 at 12:52 am 1 comment

So I need to get this off my chest.

If nothing else, I have learned in the past month the importance of washing/Purell-ing hands in the hospital.  To prevent the spread of germs from you to patient, patient to you, patient to other patient, patient to your instruments, etc.  I get it.  I really do.  I Purell my hands when I’m in the hospital twice for every patient I see (before + after) and sometimes more than that.  My hands are extremely dry, but I can live with that.

When I was at church today we were told about new regulations to prevent the spread of H1N1: no Communion cup, no holding hands during the Our Father, no shaking hands during the greeting or at any time during the service.  In spite of all my Purell-ing on the job, for some reason this troubled me.  Until this whole swine flu runs its course, I apparently need to go through life sanitizing myself from other people, from the warm feeling of someone’s hands supporting yours, from the firm and friendly handshake you get from your neighbor next to you in the pew.  Being that I’m in a long-distance relationship, I don’t feel another person’s touch very often, and strange as this sounds, I treasure it.  Maybe I’m gross.  I don’t know.  I’d be totally willing to carry Purell with me and offer it to strangers so we can hold hands and pray together.  I may even get sick… oh the horror!

In short, while I am generally a fan of cleanliness and preventing the spread of disease, I am NOT a fan of losing that element of touch that is so powerful.  People have held hands with each other for thousands of years and now all of a sudden we need to rub alcohol gel on our hands immediately after touching someone OR worse still, not touch someone altogether.  We all need our hugs/hand holding/bodily contact (don’t be crude!) that usually results in the transmission of germs.  It makes me very sad to live in a world where the need to stay clean out-needs the need to touch, to support, to heal each other.

Anyway.  That’s all for now I suppose.  Have a great week everyone! 🙂

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Hey, it’s a new post! I’m yours

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Liz  |  October 27, 2009 at 10:29 am

    Aw, I totally agree with you Stephie. I would be really sad if they made an announcement like that in church.

    I hope you’re having a blast in San Diego. I sent my Save the Dates out last week so you should be getting yours in the mail soon! 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


RSS i read

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email

Join 2 other followers


