This is a song about conference…

November 17, 2009 at 11:54 pm Leave a comment

… wonderful, beautiful conference! *is the only person laughing at the inside joke*

Anyway.

So from Wednesday to Sunday of this past week (good Lord is it already November 17th?!?) I attended the American Music Therapy Association National Convention, right here in my backyard (aka San Diego, CA).  It was incredible.  I met so many people, made new friends and lots of contacts, and recharged spiritually from getting to see friends and colleagues.  Some highlights for me:

1) A session on adaptive music lessons (aka adapted instructional music lesson techniques for kids with disabilities, my professional paper topic, the subject of all my geekiness over the summer, etc.).  Tons of resources, plus the whole session validated the work I have done with my percussion students.  Got me excited about possibly offering adaptive lessons in the future!

2) Dr. Patel’s speech on building bridges between neuroscience and music therapy in the future through research.  Similar speech, but not exactly the same, found here – probably the most informative 52 minutes you’ve had in a while. 🙂

3) Interestingly enough, one of my favorite sessions was one that I also disagreed with the most… a session entitled “Evidence-Based Practice from a Humanist Perspective”.  From this, I learned a couple of things: a) Humanism is not exactly what I believed it to be; b) I don’t do music therapy, I am music therapy; c) the way they look at “more behavioral models” (I can see the snarl on their faces as I type this) is totally skewed and overgeneralized.  But yeah, it was one of those sessions you have to attend in order to know better where you stand.

There was a lot more that I don’t feel like going into at the moment, but what I DO feel like is giving you 2.5 moments of listening pleasure:

You’re welcome.  🙂

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

30 things I am grateful for

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


RSS i read

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email

Join 2 other followers


