30 things I am grateful for

November 21, 2009 at 1:43 am 1 comment

So I am reading a book as a part of my internship entitled Smart Women Finish Rich, which – as indicated by the title – the author (David Bach) tells the reader (myself) the information they need to know to handle money as well as making the reader believe they are worth self-investing in their own futures.  I’ve been fortunate enough to have had much of this information before (thanks to my wonderfully financial-minded parents), but it’s always a good reminder, plus it also has some things I didn’t know.  One of the final exercises in the book is to list 30 things that we are grateful for (which seems incredibly appropriate because here comes Thanksgiving!!) and to share that list with family and friends.  I’ve done these sorts of exercises before, but here’s my 2009 version of 30 things I am incredibly thankful for in my life (in no particular order, just how they come to me)…

1. My parents, who never forget to tell me they are proud of me.

2. My morning drive which follows the ocean for a mile or so north of Torrey Pines State Park.  Truly a moment of bliss every morning.

3. Paul – my best friend, my other half, my soulmate. 🙂

4. The few precious moments before my alarm goes off each morning when I can lay in my warm bed and meditate on the rest of the day.

5. The perfect cup of coffee.

6. My lilbro – one of my closest friends and a blessing!

7. Music – the effects of which form not only the basis for my entire career but the cornerstone of me and my sanity.

8. My faith – the spiritual journey I’ve been on through the years that has brought me to where I stand today.

9.Red wine.

10. Smiles from strangers that always seem to come when I least expect them (and most need them).

11. Beautiful, wonderful friends – whom I am all quite far away from at the moment but I feel our hearts connected by one really long thread 🙂

12. All my memories from Longhorn band – it was an incredible ride, folks.

13. Any time I get to spend at a piano – I rediscover my first love more and more every day!

14. Letters and cards sent by family and friend at home.  It truly makes my day and I love you all!

15. The fact that I will never be enough by myself to tackle the big challenges in life – that God is there to help me.

16. Having dogs to play with when I come home currently. 🙂

17. The movie “Anchorman”.  San Diego jokes never get old!

18. All the mentors and teachers I have had over the years – I took a part of what each person gave me and am trying to make it into who I am today.

19. Donuts from that killer shop in Denton.  Can’t remember the name right now but geez, it is good!

20. My patients, who teach me more and more about life each day.

21. Watching the sunrise/sunset.

22. The most perfect weather ever imaginable.  It hasn’t rained once in the going on two months since I’ve been here 🙂

23. Trader Joe’s and their amazing food.

24. Being a Texan (to whom the phrase ” I wasn’t born in TX but got here as fast as I could” applies!)

25. Good health for myself and those around me.

26. College football season!

27. The Internet – it is truly amazing nowadays how easy it is to find infofmation.

28. Yellow cake w/chocolate frosting.

29.Laughter – it helps me get through each day!

30. Perhaps the biggest blessing of all – waking up and being alive at the dawning of each new day!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

This is a song about conference… Hype.

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


RSS i read

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email

Join 2 other followers


